Which regions in England and Wales have won the most seasons and Premier League titles? | football news

Which regions in England and Wales have won the most seasons and Premier League titles?

The Premier League started in 1992 with nine games starting at 3pm on Saturday 15 August and spanning stadiums scattered across England – but 30 years later, which region has taken over the roost?

In terms of the number of teams representing regions, London and the North West lead the way with 10 each, followed by Yorkshire and Humber (seven), the West Midlands (six) and the South East (four).

The East Midlands, East of England and North East have each had just three clubs representing their respective regions over the past three decades, while just two have come from the South West – just like Welsh teams.

All the teams that have competed in the Premier League are detailed in the interactive table above, which reveals the two South West clubs are Swindon and Bournemouth – with both teams sitting on the outer borders of the region.

What about seasons by region?

Perhaps surprisingly, London teams have played more Premier League seasons than clubs in the North West, but by the smallest margin – they have played 168 seasons compared to 165.

Chelsea's Reece James and Arsenal's Emile Smith Rowe (right) battle for the ball
Arsenal and Chelsea have been ubiquitous forces from London in the Premier League – as have Tottenham

The West Midlands come third (74), ahead of North East (58), South East (38), Yorkshire and the Humber (37), East Midlands (28) and East of England (23) – while Wales (ninth ) outnumbers the Southwest (six).

Only six clubs have been consistently present in the Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham – although the Toffees have narrowly maintained their perfect streak this season after avoiding relegation with a late run of form.

Outside of those six clubs, Aston Villa and Newcastle have each completed 27 campaigns over the past 30 years, ahead of West Ham (26) and champions Manchester City (25).

Bournemouth (South West) will extend their tenure in the top flight to six campaigns after rising as runners-up in the Championship this season, as will play-off winners Nottingham Forest (East Midlands), while London’s Fulham move up to 16 will seasons after promotion as champions.

Okay, but what about title?

But titles provide evidence in the pudding, right?

Well if titles are the deciding factor in deciding which region dominates the Premier League then the North West is an absolute winner with 21 trophies.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Sir Alex Ferguson led Manchester United to 13 Premier League titles as the club had won just seven top-flight titles in the 98 years prior to his appointment

In fact, only three regions have won the domestic division since 1993, but London are their closest challenger with eight so far – while the East Midlands have lifted a lone title thanks to Leicester’s fairytale crown in 2016.

The table below clearly shows that Manchester United remain the historic powerhouse of the league with 13 league wins in 30 seasons.

Meanwhile, Manchester City, United’s “loud neighbours”, have overtaken Chelsea as runners-up with six trophies – meaning 19 or 21 Premier League titles have been won by the North West in Manchester.

Manchester City's Fernandinho lifts the Premier League trophy aloft
Manchester City’s Fernandinho lifts the Premier League trophy aloft

With three Premier League titles, Arsenal remain the only other club to have won the division more than once, with Blackburn, Leicester and Liverpool all having lifted a single title so far.

Leave a Comment