Where To Watch ‘The Staircase’ Documentary and How Many Episodes Are There?

True crime enthusiasts have become obsessed with HBO Max stairs since it premiered in May 2022. The eight-part series brings to the small screen the true story of Michael Peterson, who was charged and convicted of killing his wife, Kathleen Peterson, after she was found dead at the foot of the staircase on December 9, 2001.

After eight years in prison, Michael Peterson was released in 2011 pending a new trial. In 2017, he pleaded guilty to Alford and was released. As part of the guilty plea, he maintained his innocence, but admitted that the evidence against him would likely result in a guilty verdict.

    Michael Peterson
The real Michael Peterson as seen in Netflix’s “The Staircase”

Throughout the eight episodes of stairs On HBO Max, Michael Peterson is followed by a documentary crew, led by Oscar-winning director Jean-Xavier de Lestrade, who is making a documentary about his legal battle, titled Stairs.

filming for stairs documentary actually happened in real life and the final product exists today.

news week has everything you need to know about the original stairs documentary including where to watch and how many episodes.

Where to watch the documentary ‘The Staircase’?

The totality stairs The documentary is available to stream exclusively on Netflix now.

Watch stairs, you must be a Netflix customer. You can subscribe to the streaming platform now for $8.99 per month.

The real Jean-Xavier de Lestrade began following Michael Peterson after his wife’s death and during his trial between 2001 and 2003.

Peterson’s family and children appeared throughout the documentary, and de Lestrade also had access to the courtroom and defense attorneys.

The synopsis for the Netflix documentary teases: “stairs is the compelling story of Michael Peterson, a crime novelist accused of killing his wife Kathleen after she was found dead at the bottom of a staircase in their home, and the 16-year court battle that followed.”

It was de Lestrade’s coverage for his documentary that brought Peterson’s case to worldwide attention, leading the public to question whether or not Michael Peterson killed Kathleen Peterson, and the debate still rages among true crime enthusiasts. .

How many episodes are there in the documentary ‘The Staircase’?

There are 13 episodes in total stairs documentary, which were filmed over the span of 15 years.

The first installment of the documentary was completed in September 2004 and premiered in October 2004 on Canal+, in January 2005 on BBC Four and in April 2005 on Sundance Channel.

When the first batch of episodes were released in 2004, the Michael Peterson case garnered international attention.

On December 16, 2011, Peterson was released from prison on $300,000 bail and placed under house arrest with an ankle tracker. His release came after Judge Hudson agreed to a new trial as SBI (North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation) analyst Duane Deaver was found to have given “materially misleading” and “deliberately false” testimony with regarding the bloodstain evidence in the Peterson case.

michael peterson the ladder
The real Michael Peterson in Jean-Xavier de Lestrade’s documentary, “The Staircase.”

Hudson also found that he had exaggerated his professional background, reported The news and the observer. He had been one of the main witnesses against Peterson in his first trial.

De Lestrade returned to film Peterson and his family in 2012 and 2013. He shortly released a two-hour special, following Peterson’s release on bail.

Between 2013 and 2017, de Lestrade continued to visit the Peterson family and film them, providing updates on the case, including Alford de Peterson’s guilty plea and release from custody in February 2017.

Three new episodes were made for Netflix and in 2018, Netflix released all 13 episodes of de Lestrade. stairs series on its streaming platform as a season.

Since then, stairs has remained a true crime staple and can often be seen in and out of Netflix’s Top 10. There have also been several podcast episodes covering the case and the content of the documentary inspired much of stairs Series on HBO Max.

news week You have the full list of episodes and their runtimes below:

  • Episode 1: “Crime or Accident?” — 47:00
  • Episode 2: “Secrets and Lies” — 46:00
  • Episode 3: “A Surprising Coincidence” — 46:00
  • Episode 4: “A Prosecution Hoax” – 44:00
  • Episode 5: “A Weak Case” – 47:00
  • Episode 6: “The Prosecutors’ Revenge” – 47:00
  • Episode 7: “The Return of Blow Poke” – 50:00
  • Episode 8: “The Verdict” – 50:00
  • Episode 9: “Reopening the Case” – 55:00
  • Episode 10: “The Last Chance” – 52:00
  • Episode 11: “Looking for Closure” – 52:00
  • Episode 12 “Between Anger and Despair” — 46:00
  • Episode 13: “Flawed Justice” – 46:00

stairs is streaming on Netflix now.

Leave a Comment