One each for Derry and Galway before the provincial football finals

DERRY BOSS RORY Gallagher has kept changes to a minimum ahead of Sunday’s Ulster Seniors Football Championship final against Donegal.

There is only one change to the starting XI as Oak Leaf County compete in their first provincial finals since 2011 and seek to end a 24-year wait for the Anglo Celt Cup.

Emmett Bradley is named to start in midfield while Niall Toner is benched for the Clones showdown.

Gallagher previously stayed with the same starting team for massive back-to-back wins over All-Ireland champions Tyrone and Monaghan. However, Toner was a late substitution on both occasions, replacing Bradley and wearing the No. 22 shirt.

Donegal is yet to show up for the Clones showdown which is due to take place at 4pm and can be seen live on RTE 2 and BBC One NI.

Likewise, Galway manager Padraic Joyce has made a change for the seniors final at Connacht against Galway.

Patrick Kelly has been rewarded with a regular spot for his impressive came on as a substitute against Leitrim in the semifinals. Kelly, a former Athlone Town footballer, scored 2-1 that day and is now named as a winger, while Finland’s Ó Laoi was dropped on the bench.

The Tribe, who defeated Mayo in their opener, last took silver in 2018. They lost the next three finals in a row, with Roscommon coming out on top in 2019.

These sides both met in that year’s Division 2 League Finals, with the Rossies also triumphing that day.

Throw-in at Pearse Stadium on Sunday is at 1.45pm with Anthony Cunningham yet to name his team.

Derry (vs Donegal)

1. Odhran Lynch

2.Chrissy McKaigue, 3.Brendan Rogers, 4.Conor McCluskey

5. Conor Doherty, 6. Gareth McKinless, 7. Padraig McGrogan

8. Conor Glass, 9. Emmett Bradley

10.Paul Cassidy, 11.Shea Downey, 12.Ethan Doherty

13.Bemmy Heron, 14.Shane McGuigan, 15.Niall Loughlin.


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insights and discussions in The42 Membership.

become a member

Galway (vs. Roscommon)

1. Connor Gleeson

2.Liam Silke, 3.Sean Kelly, 4.Jack Glynn

5. Dylan McHugh, 6. John Daly, 7. Kieran Molloy

8.Paul Conroy, 9.Cillian McDaid;

10. Patrick Kelly, 11. Matthew Tierney, 12. Johnny Heaney

13.Rob Finnerty, 14.Damien Comer, 15.Shane Walsh.

Munster team news here and Leinster decision news here.

Leave a Comment