Leighton & District Sunday Football League season summary

St Josephs captain Sean Bishop receives the Leighton League Premier Cup from league chairman Dave Snaith
St Josephs captain Sean Bishop receives the Leighton League Premier Cup from league chairman Dave Snaith

The Leighton & District Sunday League, under chairman Dave Snaith and his fellow committee members, is celebrating its golden jubilee year, half a century since the inaugural season.

The League Executive Committee has presented longtime Treasurer and Vice President Terry Turrell with a special glass trophy in recognition of his 50 years of service.

Terry has been with the league since its inception in 1972.

Diana Molnar of Stand With Ukraine, Board Member Neil Hurren, Chairman Dave Snaith

The league have announced they will be sponsored by Voltra Sports for the 2022-3 season in an exciting new development with mutual benefits for local football and the advancement of the sports-focused company.

Voltra soccer balls are used during league competitions.

Next season the Premier League will be sponsored by Saltire Trading and Division 4 by Macca Repairs.

Following the difficulties caused by Covid in recent years, 2022 saw a packed schedule of cup and league competitions, as well as the introduction of new competitions to allow for an extended season for early birds.

Premier Cup officials Chris Parperi, Chaloun Tan, Antonio Santanisario, Mario Stekatovic

The roll of honor for this special year reads:

Premier League Winners: Club Lewsey

Division 1 Winners: FC Victoria

Division 2 Winners: Beecroft Community Center

St Joseph’s celebrate a narrow 2-1 Premier Cup win over league champions Club Lewsey, for whom Jordan Mongay was man of the match

Division 3 Winners: Kingsland Walkers

Division 4 Winners: Beecroft Community Center Reserves

The Jack Jones Cup flagship final was played in Leighton Town on Sunday 15 May between Club Lewsey and Brim and Crown.

St Josephs beat second-placed Club Lewsey 2-1 in the Premier Cup, also played at Bell Close in Leighton Town.

Division 1 Cup Winners FC Victoria Runners-up Caddington Youth Development (3-1)

Division 2 Cup winner Southcott Village Residents Association runners-up Beecroft (3-1)

Division 3 Cup Winners Kingsland Wanderers Runners-up Luton Phoenix (5-2)

Division 4 Cup winners, Beecroft Community Center Reserves runners-up, Dunstable Cricket Club (0-0 on penalties)

Sid Clear Memorial Cup winners Victoria FC runners-up Highwood FC (7-0)

Terry Turrell Cup Winner YP Community

Other milestones included the success of St Josephs and AFC Sundon Park Social in the Bedfordshire County FA Sunday competitions. Club Lewsey reached the quarter-finals of the National Sunday Cup

The Leighton League also made a generous donation to the people of Ukraine. A huge check was presented by chairman Dave Snaith and league board member Neil Hurren to Stand With Ukraine’s Diana Molnar at the Cup final at Barton Rovers FC

Leave a Comment