Eriksen could break goal record – news

Christian Eriksen has only been at Brentford for a few months but already has his sights set on a club record. The 30-year-old is part of the Danish squad for the upcoming international matches. And in that time he could equal and maybe even break the record for most international goals.

Christian has made two appearances for Denmark since joining Brentford in late January. He scored in both – against the Netherlands and Serbia. He was one of a very small group of Brentford players to have scored more than one international goal on the club’s books.

More than 1,000 players have appeared in our colors since The Bees joined the EFL more than a century ago, but goals in international football have been difficult to come by for Brentford players with just 15 men hitting the net for their countries. Brentford players have been involved in international football since the Bees were a Football League team, winning 53 caps. Brentford’s first international was Joe Connor, who played twice for the Ireland national football team in 1903, representing the island of Ireland from 1882 to 1950.

The Bees were then playing in the Southern League, but Joe played at the British Home Championships in 1902/03, winning two of his three caps while playing with Brentford. He was also the first man to score an international goal as a Brentford player, scoring against Scotland. Tommy Shanks also represented Ireland in 1905 and it was then almost 30 years before Dai Hopkins became Brentford’s third international, representing Wales.

Dai scored twice in twelve games for Wales between 1934 and 1939. He was the second Brentford player to score for his country and until recently was the only man to do so twice. Dai scored against Ireland in 1935 and England in 1938. He also scored once in internationals during the war that were not given official status.

Brentford played in the upper echelons of the First Division in the late 1930s and nine players won international honours, including the club’s only two England internationals – Billy Scott and Leslie Smith. Only Les Boulter, for Wales against Ireland, scored. Jimmy D’Arcy was on Brentford’s books from 1952 to 1954, earning caps for Northern Ireland shortly after the British nation began playing international football. He scored once in four caps earned at Brentford.

Hermann Hreiðarsson won 12 of his 89 caps for Iceland while playing for The Bees and scored against Andorra while playing for Brentford. Stuart Dallas and Alan Judge scored for their countries while playing at Brentford, as did Henrik Dalsgaard. Henrik won 22 of his 26 caps for Denmark while playing for The Bees, making him the club’s most-capped player. He was the first Brentford player to appear at a FIFA World Cup and helped Denmark reach the last 16 in Russia in 2018. He scored his only goal for Denmark in March 2019 against Switzerland.

Tariqe Fosu scored for Ghana last year and Mathias Jensen for Denmark in March. Marcus Forss scored for Finland against France last year and scored his second goal in November. Christian Nørgaard scored for Denmark last October and Halil Dervişoğlu in May 2021 before representing his country in the belated 2020 UEFA European Championship.

Halil and Marcus joined Dai Hopkins as players to score twice for their countries at The Bees late last year. Marcus increased his tally to two, but Halil did even better. He has four goals for Turkey and holds the club record for most international goals.

Our international scoring squad grew in March when Yoane Wissa scored for DRC against Morocco and Christian scored his two goals. That brings us to a total of 15 international goalscorers, and those with more than one goal are now four players. With more international games coming up, some more records could be broken.

Brentford’s full list of international goalscorers is as follows:

Halil Dervişoğlu – Turkey – Four goals

Christian Eriksen – Denmark – Two goals

Marcus Forss – Finland – Two goals

Dai Hopkins – Wales – Two goals

Les Boulter – Wales – One goal

Joe Connor – Ireland – One goal

Stuart Dallas – Northern Ireland – One goal

Jimmy D’Arcy – Northern Ireland – A goal

Henrik Dalsgaard – Denmark – A goal

Tariqe Fosu – Ghana – One goal

Hermann Hreiðarsson – Iceland – One goal

Mathias Jensen – Denmark – One goal

Alan Judge – Republic of Ireland – One goal

Christian Nørgaard – Denmark – One goal

Yoane Wissa – Democratic Republic of the Congo – One goal

Leave a Comment