DeKalb property tax office offers extended hours at Memorial Drive location September 26-30 – On Common Ground News

DECATUR, GA– DeKalb County Tax Commissioner Irvin J. Johnson announces extended hours at the property tax office located on Memorial Drive September 26-30 until 6 p.m.

Customers paying their property tax bills will temporarily use the UGA Extension office entrance in the front of the building through Friday, September 30. Seniors and customers with a disabled parking placard can still check in at the Northern Avenue property tax side entrance.

“Each year, we see an influx of walk-ins as the payment deadline approaches. Many are unaware of the automated payment systems we have in place to save time and resources,” Johnson said. “I strongly encourage taxpayers to review their options and consider paying online, or paying by phone, mail, and drop box to avoid long lines and delays.”

DeKalb County tax bills were sent out in mid-August by mail and email to homeowners who signed up for electronic billing. Deadlines for installments are September 30 and November 15. City of Atlanta/DeKalb bills were mailed beginning September 15 and are due November 15. Payments can be made online at, or by drop box, mail, or phone.

Image: Map showing the temporary entrance to the property tax office located on Memorial Dr.; signs are posted redirecting customers to the entrance of UGA Extension.

What taxpayers need to know before visiting the main office location to pay their bill:

    • The first installment is due on September 30. If you are paying the full amount in one payment, it must be paid in full by September 30. The second installment is due on November 15. Check your bill for the amount due before the due date.
    • Remember to bring your tax bill stub and a valid Georgia ID or Georgia driver’s license.
    • Acceptable payment methods include credit card, debit card, check, or money order; Processing fees apply for credit/debit card payments.
    • General parking is available in the Extension Services lot and the Property Tax lot; disabled patrons may use the property tax entrance on Northern Avenue.
    • Security checks and temperature checks are required for service.
See also  Alo Yoga accepts crypto payments, allows crypto paychecks

To avoid long lines, wait times, and late fees, consider the following payment methods:

  • Credit/debit card payments accepted; processing fees apply. There is no service fee to pay with e-Check.
  • Mailbox:Secure the Gold Drop Box at the Memorial Drive or Clairmont Road Tax Offices, or the Secure Drop Box at the South DeKalb Mall Tax Offices. Payment must be placed in the box by the due date (cash is not accepted).
  • Pay by phone:Call 770-336-7500, Monday through Friday, from 8 am to 5 pm Payment does not apply prior year, delinquent payments. Credit/debit card payments accepted; a processing fee applies.
  • Mail:Payment by mail must be postmarked by the US Postal Service by the due date to avoid late fees; Metered or kiosk postage dates are not accepted as proof of timely payment.

“Property owners who have not received their bill can contact the tax office to avoid delays,” said Tax Commissioner Irvin J. Johnson. “Failure to receive an invoice does not relieve the owner of the responsibility to pay the taxes owed. It is the property owner’s responsibility to inform our office of any mailing address changes.”

Tax bills reflect millage rates established by the DeKalb Board of Commissioners and government authorities, and fair market values ​​determined by the county Department of Property Appraisal. Taxpayers should be aware that in any tax year, tax bills may be higher due to an increase in a property’s fair market value, but may be offset by tax savings (E-Host and exemptions). The deadline to appeal the property’s appraised values ​​was in July; the deadline to apply for homestead exemptions was April 1, 2022.

See also  Crypto: What are meme coins? And should you invest in them?

If you have questions about property appraisal values, call the County Property Appraisal Department at 404-371-0841. For questions about paying taxes and exemptions, contact the Tax Commissioner’s Office at 404-298-4000 or [email protected]

Post Views:

Leave a Comment