Australia vs New Zealand, semi-final, live blog, streaming, teams, James Tedesco, Joey Manu

Australia came from behind to beat New Zealand 16-14 in an epic World Cup semi-final that had absolutely everything at Elland Road in Leeds.

A tireless Liam Martin produced a man-of-the-match display, but Cameron Murray had the only try of the second half as Australia won into the decider in an epic comeback.

MATCH HUB: Australia vs New Zealand, Teams, Results, Videos, Updates

Watch every Rugby League World Cup match LIVE and exclusively on Fox Sports, on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

Smith and Grant share a good haka moment | 01:20

Joseph Manu jumped high before unleashing a volley for Jahrome Hughes to score the first try of the night.

Ben Hunt produced a pinpoint bomb for Josh Addo-Carr to come out of nowhere to get past Jordan Rapana as the Kangaroos responded.

It was Addo-Carr’s 12th attempt at the tournament, equaling teammate Valentine Holmes’ World Cup Australia record in 2017.

“That’s impressive,” said Andrew Voss.

Cameron Munster was penalized for being offside after James Tedesco caught a knockout to gift Jordan Rapana a penalty goal as the Kiwis regained the lead.

Jack Wighton produced a brilliant run and unloaded off cover for Holmes to close in the corner as Australia surged ahead.

Ronaldo Mulitalo came up with a brilliant run down the sideline after some deft hands on the inside to put Dylan Brown over the top as New Zealand took the lead before half-time.

“This is a classic semi-final,” said Voss.

“We have seen four brilliant attempts in the first half. You don’t want the first half to end.”

See also  MK: "I'm pretty comfortable with that."

New Zealand held a 14-10 halftime lead after an epic first 40 minutes from both sides.

The Kiwis appeared to have scored through Peta Hiku, but Rapana was ruled offside by Hughes’ kick as Australia dodged a bullet in a controversial moment.

“I’m not convinced,” Voss said.

Nathan Cleary called before Murray caused a melee with an all-in after pushing Isaiah Papali’i.

Murray made up for an earlier error and penalty when he charged from close range while New Zealand were asleep, allowing Australia to take the lead.

Brandon Smith took the penalty and was caught on his heels, allowing Murray to take the lead on a smooth and crucial try.

New Zealand had a chance to regain the lead, but Hughes’ kick at tackle one caused Hiku to miss hitting the ball into the goal after jumping in from just outside the field of play.

“This has been an extraordinary contest,” said Voss.

New Zealand threw it all at Australia in the final five minutes, but Latrell Mitchell caught the final bombshell of the game as the Kangaroos held on in a thrilling advance to the World Cup final.


Australia take on New Zealand in a delightful World Cup semi-final at Elland Road in Leeds.

Kangaroos captain James Tedesco will take on Roosters teammate Joey Manu in a brilliant sideline battle.

Australian media outlets Nathan Cleary and Cameron Munster take on their New Zealand counterparts Jahrome Hughes and Dylan Brown in an epic duel.

Meanwhile, the battle between Australia’s dual prostitutes Ben Hunt and Harry Grant and Brandon Smith and Kieran Foran will be crucial to the ruck battle.

See also  New Movies and TV in December 2022

Latrell Mitchell and Jack Wighton make a devastating central pairing against Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad and Peta Hiku.


‘POINT OF DIFFERENCE’: Key matches to decide Australia’s World Cup semi-final

BACKFLIP: Samoa stars’ surprising turnaround after coach hit

‘NEVER WHILE I LIVE’: Prodigy’s Broncos contract dispute turns ugly

TRANSFER WHISPERS: ‘Lock Me Up For Life’: Latrell’s Attempt To End His Souths Career

James Tedesco and Joey Manu.
James Tedesco and Joey Manu.Source: FOX SPORTS

However, it is the battle of the forwards that will set the tone of the match, with Reagan Campbell-Gillard and Jake Trbojevic set to take on James Fisher-Harris and Jesse Bromwich up front.

Australia’s back row of Cameron Murray, Angus Crichton and Isaah Yeo have a big challenge against Kenny Bromwich, Isaiah Papali’i and Joseph Tapine.

It sets the stage for what is being called the World Cup final before the final with the winner facing either England or Samoa for a shot at the ultimate prize in Manchester.


Australia: 1. James Tedesco 4. Valentine Holmes 8. Latrell Mitchell 10. Jack Wighton 9. Josh Addo-Carr 7. Cameron Munster 14. Nathan Cleary 5. Jake Trbojevic 3. Ben Hunt 6. Reagan Campbell-Gillard 17. Angus Crichton 21 Liam Martin 24. Isaah Yeo 20. Harry Grant 13. Patrick Carrigan 11. Cameron Murray 18. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui. 18th man: 2. Daly Cherry-Evans

New Zealand: 1. Joseph Manu 2. Ronaldo Mulitalo 21. Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad 4. Peta Hiku 5. Jordan Rapana 6. Dylan Brown 7. Jahrome Hughes 8. Jesse Bromwich 9. Brandon Smith 10. James Fisher-Harris 11. Isaiah Papali’ i 17. Briton Nikora 13. Joseph Tapine 14. Kieran Foran 15. Moses Leota 16. Nelson Asofa-Solomona 20. Isaac Liu. 18th man: 12. Kenny Bromwich

Get the latest NRL news, highlights and analysis delivered straight to your inbox with Fox Sports Sportmail. Register now!!


Leave a Comment